Robert Elsie | AL Art | AL History | AL Language | AL Literature | AL Photography | Contact |

Robert Elsie

Frühe Fotografie in Albanien

 

AL Photography
Introduction


1863 —

Székely

Ottoman Costumes

Abdul Hamid II

Degrand


1900 —

Liebert

Grothe

Steinmetz

Durham

Nopcsa

FILM Novi Pazar

Doda

Baschmakoff

Louis-Jaray

Siebertz

Vangjeli


1910 —

Jäckh

Gerstner

Boissonnas

Dutch Military

San Giuliano

Lambertz

Purger


1920 —

Raci

Bernatzik

Coon


1930 —

Wallisch

Jacques

Den Doolaard

Dönhoff

Luckwald

Schulz

Busch-Zantner

Robinson


1940 —

Massani

Koch

Kollegger

Cham Refugees

Westermann

Gušić


1950 —

Fiedler

Hamm

 

Webdesign J. Groß

Einführung
English | Shqip

Albanien mit seiner Geschichte und Kultur wird nicht nur durch Schriften sondern auch durch Fotografie entdeckt. Einige frühe Fotosammlungen bieten seltene Einblicke in die Vergangenheit des albanischen Volkes..

Robert Elsie

Erste Fotografen in Albanien und im Südwesten der Balkanhalbinsel

Auf seiner Reise durch Albanien, Kosova und Mazedonien im Herbst des Jahres 1863 wurde Johann Georg von Hahn (1811-1869), der Begründer der Albanologie, von dem Wiener Fotografen Josef Székely (ca. 1838-1901) begleitet, der einige der frühsten Fotografien von Albanien gemacht haben soll. Seine aus fünfzig Aufnahmen bestehende Sammlung enthält Bilder von Shkodra, Prizren, Ohrid und Monastir (Bitola).

Am Ende des neunzehnten und in den ersten Jahrzehnten des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts war es keine Seltenheit mehr, dass Forscher und Reisende ihre Kodaks und sonstige Fotoapparate mitnahmen und das, was sie in Albanien sahen und erlebten, in Bilder festhielten. Einige Bilder - nicht immer von hoher Qualität - dienten als Illustrationen in ihren Büchern. Andere Sammlungen wurden nie veröffentlicht und warten - hundert Jahre später - entdeckt zu werden. Die Geschichte der einheimischen Fotografen in Südwesten der Balkanhalbinsel steht in erster Linie mit zwei bekannten Sammlungen in Verbindung.

Die Marubi-Fotosammlung (Fototeka Marubi) in Shkodra enthält ca. 150.000 Aufnahmen, viele von ihnen von unschätzbarem historischen, kunsthistorischen und kulturellen Wert. Sie ist die Arbeit dreier Generationen. Pietro Marubbi oder Marubi (1834-1903) war ein italienischer Maler und Fotograf, der als Anhänger von Garibaldi aus politischen Gründen seine Heimatstadt Piacenza in Norditalien verlassen musste. Ca. 1850 siedelte er in Shkodra und gründete dort mit mitgebrachten Fotoapparaten das erste Fotogeschäft Albaniens, Foto Marubi. Die ältesten Aufnahmen der Sammlung sollen aus den Jahren 1858-1859 stammen. Einige Bilder wurden in den Zeitschriften The London Illustrated News, La Guerra d'Oriente und L'Illustration veröffentlicht. Als Lehrlinge nahm er den junge Rrok Kodheli (1862-1881) und seinen Bruder, Kel Kodheli (1870-1840) auf, der später nach dem Tod von Pietro das Familiengeschäft übernahm und seinen Namen in Kel Marubi änderte. Er wandte neue Techniken mit Sondereffekten an und lernte, die Negative geschickter zu bearbeiten. Kel Marubi begann außerhalb des Studios zu fotografieren und zwar mit besseren Apparaten.

Eng verwandt mit den Marubis war auch der Fotograf und Maler Kolë Idromeno (1860-1939) von Shkodra. Mit der Unterstützung von Pietro Marubbi, von dem er die Kunst des Fotografierens gelernt hat, reiste Idromeno in Jahre 1875 nach Venedig, um dort an der Kunstakademie zu studieren. Er gab sein Studium nach sechs Monaten auf, blieb allerdings in Venedig und arbeitete einige Jahre bei einem venezianischen Maler, bis er 1878 nach Albanien zurückkehrte. Im Jahre 1883 öffnete er in Shkodra ein Fotostudio mit Fotoapparaten, die er von der Pathé-Gesellschaft in Frankreich eingeführt hatte. 1912 führte er als erster in Albanien auch einen Filmprojektor ein und zeigte Filme. Im August 1912 unterschrieb er einen Vertrag mit der österreichischen Firma Josef Stauber, und eröffnete das erste kleine Kino in Albanien.

Die dritte Generation von Marubi-Fotografen war Kels Sohn, Gegë Marubi (1907-1984). In den Jahren 1923-1927 studierte dieser im französischen Lyon an der ersten von den Lumière-Brüdern gegründeten Foto- und Filmschule und arbeitete von 1928-1940 in Shkodra als Berufsfotograf. Er war der erste der Marubis, der vorwiegend mit Zelluloid statt mit Glasplatten arbeitete.

Die Marubi-Sammlung dokumentiert nordalbanische Geschichte und Kultur von der Zeit der Liga von Prizren bis in die 1930er Jahre, und enthält einmalige Porträts von Stammesführern und Aufnahmen von Aufständen im Hochland, vom Stadtleben und von historischen Ereignissen in und um Shkodra. Wenige Bilder dieser großen Sammlung wurden bisher veröffentlicht. Seit dem Jahr 1994 gibt es Bemühungen mit Unterstützung der UNESCO, die Sammlung zu retten und sie der Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Die andere große Sammlung balkanischer Fotografie und Kinematografie ist die der Manakis-Brüder in Mazedonien. Jannaki Manakis (1878-1954) und sein Bruder Milton Manakis (1882-1964) wurde im Dorf Avdela bei Grevena - jetzt in Nordgriechenland - geboren. Sie waren aromunischer (wlachischer) Abstammung. Von 1898-1904 besaßen sie ein Fotogeschäft in Janina (Ioannina), siedelten dann im Jahre 1905 nach Monastir (Bitola) - in der jetzigen Republik Mazedonien - um, wo sie ein Studio für Fotografische Kunst eröffneten. Jannaki und Milton Manakis machten über 17.300 Fotoaufnahmen an ca. 120 Orten. Im Jahre 1905 drehten sie den ersten kurzen Film des Balkans.

In Albanien selber befinden sich zusätzlich die Sammlungen von Shan Pici (ca. 70.000 Aufnahmen), Dedë Jakova (ca. 50.000 Aufnahmen) und Raboshta, die alle eng mit der Marubi-Schule in Shkodra verwandt sind. Andere wichtige Fotosammlungen in Albanien befinden sich in Korça. Unter ihnen sind die Sammlungen von Petro Dhimitri (1861-1946), ursprünglich ein Wanderfotograf aus den 1890er Jahren; Kristaq Sulidhi, der in Griechenland sein Handwerk gelernt hat; und Vani Burda aus Bukarest, der in den 1920er Jahren ein Fotogeschäft in Korça eröffnete. Von besonderem Interesse ist auch Kristaq Sotiri (1883-1970) aus Korça, der bei Sulidhi lernte, im Jahre 1902-1903 in die USA auswanderte und in New York und Los Angeles als Fotograf tätig war. Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Korça im Jahre 1923 eröffnete er mit seinem Freund, dem Landschaftsmaler Vangjush Mio (1891-1957) das in Südostalbanien später bekannte Fotostudio Sotiri. Von dieser Sammlung sind ca 14.000 Aufnahmen erhalten geblieben. Noch zu erwähnen sind Ymer Bali aus Tirana, Mandi Koçi (1912-1982) aus Voskopoja, Jani Ristani aus der Gjirokastra- Gegend, Misto Cici aus Pogradec und Xhimitiku aus Berat. 'Last but not least' in der Geschichte der albanischen Fotografie - obgleich nicht unmittelbar mit Albanien verbunden - ist der Name von Gjon Mili (1904-1984), der 1923 in die USA auswanderte, an dem Massachussetts Institute for Technology studierte und sich anschließend als Fotograf für bekannte amerikanische Zeitschriften wie Life und Fortune einen Namen machte.

Diese Internetseiten

Mit diesen Internetseiten wird nicht der Versuch unternommen, eine systematische Darstellung albanischer Fotografie zu liefern. Vielmehr sollen einige bisher wenig bekannte Fotosammlungen über Albanien und die Albaner präsentiert werden.

Robert Elsie

 

 

TOP

Robert Elsie | NEWS | AL Art | AL History | AL Language | AL Literature | AL Photography | Contact |

Robert Elsie

Early Photography in Albania

 

AL Photography
Introduction


1863 —

Székely

Ottoman Costumes

Abdul Hamid II

Degrand


1900 —

Liebert

Grothe

Steinmetz

Nopcsa

Doda

Louis-Jaray

Siebertz


1910—

Jäckh

Gerstner

Boissonnas

Dutch Military

San Giuliano

Lambertz


1920 —

Raci

Bernatzik

Coon


1930 —

Wallisch

Den Doolaard

Dönhoff

Luckwald

Schulz

Busch-Zantner

Robinson


1940 —

Massani

Koch

Cham Refugees

Gušić


1950 —

Fiedler

 

Webdesign J. Groß

Introduction
Deutsch | Shqip

Albania, and its culture and history, are to be discovered and appreciated not only through texts, but also through photography. For this reason we have chosen here to offer a few rare glimpses into the past of the Albanian people in collections of early photographs.

Robert Elsie

The First Photographers in Albania and the Southwest Balkans

On his trip through Albania, Kosova and Macedonia in the autumn of 1863, Johann Georg von Hahn (1811-1869), the father of Albanian studies, was accompanied by the Viennese photographer, Josef Székely (ca. 1838-1901), who is said to have taken some of the first photos of Albania. The collection consists of fifty photos, including views of Shkodra, Prizren, Ohrid and Monastir (Bitola).

By the end of the nineteenth century and in the early decades of the twentieth, it was common for foreign scholars, writers and adventurers travelling in Albania to take cameras with them and to record what they saw. Much of their material, not always photos of high quality, served to illustrate their book publications on Albania. Other collections were never published at all and remain to be discovered - a century later.

The history of native photography in this region of southeastern Europe, i.e. the work of photographers stemming from the region itself, is indelibly linked to two great collections.

The Marubi Photo Collection (Fototeka Marubi) in Shkodra comprises over 150,000 photos, many of which are of great historical, artistic and cultural significance. It was compiled by three generations of photographers. Pietro Marubbi or Marubi (1834-1903) was an Italian painter and photographer who, as a supporter of Garibaldi, had emigrated from Piacenza, Italy, to Shkodra for political reasons around the year 1850. There, he founded a photo business, Foto Marubi, with cameras he had brought with him. The oldest photos in the collection date from 1858- 1859. Some of them were published in The London Illustrated News, the La Guerra d'Oriente and L'Illustration. Marubi was assisted by the young Rrok Kodheli (1862-1881) and his brother, Kel Kodheli (1870-1940), the latter of whom took over the family business after Pietro's death and changed his name to Kel Marubi. He furthered techniques with special effects and learned to retouch the negatives. He also began photographing outside the studio with more advanced cameras.

Closely related to the Marubis was the photographer and painter, Kolë Idromeno (1860-1939), of Shkodra. With the help of Pietro Marubbi, from whom he learned the art of photography, the young Idromeno was able to travel to Venice in 1875 to attend the Academy of Fine Arts. However, he did not survive the rigours of formal training and gave up after six months. He remained in Venice though, and worked for a few years as the assistant of an established Venetian painter, returning to Albania in 1878. In 1883, he opened a photo studio with cameras imported from the Pathé Company in France. In 1912, he became the first person in Albania to import moving picture equipment and to show films. In August of that year, he signed a contract with the Josef Stauber Company in Austria to set up the country's first, rudimentary public cinema.

The third generation of Marubi photographers in the family was Kel's son, Gegë Marubi (1907-1984). He studied in Lyon in 1923-1927 at the first school of photography and cinema, founded by the Lumière brothers, and worked in Shkodra as a professional photographer from 1928 to 1940. He pioneered working with celluloid instead of glass plates.

The Marubi photo collection captures and documents northern Albanian history from the League of Prizren onwards. It contains fascinating photographs of tribal leaders, highland uprisings, town life in Shkodra and various public events. Only a few of the photos have been published. Attempts have been underway since 1994, with UNESCO funding, to preserve the collection and make it available.

The other great collection of Balkan photography and cinematography is that of the Manakis brothers in Macedonia. Yannaki Manakis (1878-1954) and his brother, Milton Manakis (1882-1964), were born in Avdela near Grevena - now in northern Greece - and were of Aromanian (Vlach) origin. From 1898 to 1904 they owned a photo shop in Janina (Ioannina), and in 1905 they moved to Monastir (Manastir/Bitola) - now in the Republic of Macedonia - where they opened a Studio for Art Photography. Yannaki and Milton Manakis took more than 17,300 photographs in 120 localities. In 1905, they also made the first moving pictures in the Balkans.

In Albania itself are the collections of Shan Pici (ca. 70,000 photos), Dedë Jakova (ca. 50,000 photos) and Raboshta which are closely related to the Marubi school of photography in Shkodra. Other significant collections of early Albanian photography are to be found in Korça. Among them are the works of Petro Dhimitri (1861-1946), originally a travelling photographer in the 1890s; Kristaq Sulidhi, who learned the profession in Greece; and Vani Burda from Bucharest who opened a photo studio in Korça in 1920. Of particular interest is Kristaq Sotiri (1883-1970) of Korça, student of Sulidhi, who emigrated to the United States in 1902-1903 and worked as a photographer in New York and Los Angeles. In 1923 he returned to his native Korça and, with the Korça landscape painter, Vangjush Mio (1891- 1957), he opened the Sotir Studio which was well known in southeastern Albania. About 14,000 photos from this collection have been preserved. Mention may also be made of Ymer Bali of Tirana, Mandi Koçi (1912-1982) of Voskopoja, Jani Ristani from the Gjirokastra region, Misto Cici of Pogradec and Xhimitiku of Berat. Last but not least in the history of Albanian photography, though not directly related to Albania itself, is Gjon Mili (1904-1984) who emigrated to the United States in 1923, studied at the Massachussetts Institute of Technology and enjoyed a substantial reputation as a photographer for the American magazines, Life and Fortune.

This website

This website is not intended to offer a systematic presentation of Albanian photography. It does, however, endeavour to present a few collections, little known up to the present, of early photography of Albania and the Albanians.

Robert Elsie

 

 

TOP